Posted in Personal

joy in a few strokes

In the past two days, I have obtained half of the signatures I need for finally completing my Master’s Degree and submitting the manuscript that I’ve spent eight months writing full-time (not including sporadic writing sessions while I had a day job). And what joy to see those blanks filled with the ink strokes of two PhD holders! They who consider my document a piece of contribution to scientific research. Granted, they are supposed to be on my side – they’re my adviser and my reader; the conditions are not ideal as some revisions are still being done on my conclusions; but I felt joy!

What I’d need to be careful about, though, is letting this process drag on again. I’ve made the mistake of taking on employment with an unfinished thesis; I’ve let my personal time invade some time for thesis writing; I’ve not put serious hours in reading journal articles. I won’t make the same mistakes again. I will be finished by May! And those two final blanks would not remain empty; two other PhD holders will affix their signatures and accept my contribution to scientific research. I will bid “see you again” to the top University in my country – until God gives me the go-signal to pursue a PhD.

 

Author:

I am an Environmental Scientist, Geographer, and Researcher. I am especially interested in urban phenomena and planning.

One thought on “joy in a few strokes

Leave a Reply

