Posted in Personal, Research

My Day and Mr. Franklin’s

I wanted to do the exercise below for a long time but I did not have the motivation to do so. With the help of the Daily Routines website as a reference, I tried to compare my daily routine with that of Benjamin Franklin, a founding father of the United States. I dare compare; he could not react anymore!

Presented in the image is a comparison of my daily routine and a representation of the ideal routine of Mr. Franklin.  Comparing my habits with Mr. Benjamin Franklin, my routine seems not so bad at all.

image 1

The amount of time I spend for work may be many times less than his, but the structure of our routines are similar. The issue is that the outlined routine is idea: performance is not perfect everyday. Commitments outside of work happen during Make Time – the time I do creative and critical activities. I also tend to be distracted as I work-from-home most of the time, especially when I awaken at 8am or later. Mr. Franklin’s schedule does not have a time for naps – a  time block I copied from the schedule of other productivity articles. He wakes up much earlier than me: he is finished with his morning routine while I take my last doses of snooze. The phone time I have before sleeping might be affecting my sleep time; it may be giving me difficulty to sleep but prolonging my slumber.

The image below summarizes the two routines in terms of time spent for work, recreation, and sleep. My definition of these three categories may be different from yours: work includes serious productive activities like writing articles or reading professionally; recreation includes leisure reading and writing, mobile browsing, and socializing; sleep is self-explanatory, and if you could not understand it, I encourage you to getting more of it.

Image 2

The whole point of the exercise was to determine how far I am from attaining the success of one of history’s greatest men. At present, I am quite distant; however, I will adjust and hopefully be able to become successful in my own terms.

Author:

I am an Environmental Scientist, Geographer, and Researcher. I am especially interested in urban phenomena and planning.

Leave a Reply

